2016 January Ch Mtg

January Ch Mtg Flyer

Register Here!

Please email Jordan at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.  with any questions.


Michael Cadwell is the Walter H. Kidd Professor of Architecture and the Director of the Austin E. Knowlton School of Architecture. He received his BA in English Literature with Honors from Williams College and his master of architecture from Yale University. Before coming to Ohio State, Cadwell taught at the Parsons School of Design, the Rhode Island School of Design, and Williams College. He also practiced in the offices of Turner Brooks and Cesar Pelli. Before serving as Director of the School, Cadwell was Architecture Section Head (1997-2004). In 2015, Cadwell was elected to The College of Fellows of The American Institute of Architects for his notable contributions “to the advancement of the science and art of planning and building by advancing the standards of architectural education, training, and practice.”

Cadwell designed and built a series of small wood buildings on remote New England sites and public sculpture parks, which were collected as Pamphlet Architecture 17 by Princeton Architectural Press and published extensively in architectural journals. Cadwell's small buildings received design awards from the Association of Collegiate Schools of Architecture and the New York Architectural League and he has been a fellow at the Woodstock Arts Colony, the McDowell Arts Colony, and the American Academy in Rome. Cadwell also practices with Jane Murphy, focusing on residential commissions that have won two AIA awards.

In teaching and practice, Cadwell explores construction as a transformative cultural act. Cadwell's book Strange Details (MIT Press) articulates this interest through essays on canonic works of 20th century architecture. More recently, his writing on contemporary architecture has appeared in Hunch, Harvard Design Magazine, Log, and Domus.








Annual Chapter Meeting - 2015

.Annual Chapter Meeting

Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Annual Mtg Flyer copy

Held at the Nationwide and Ohio Farm Bureau 4-H Center 
2201 Fred Taylor Drive
Columbus, OH

Parking Instructions!

Parking is available at the 4-H Center and across Fred Taylor Drive in the Bill Davis Stadium Lot.

A parking permit is required - available to print here!

If you're not able to print a permit prior to the event, we will have them available at the registration desk when you walk in the 4-H Center.


AIA Members (Free to attend) - Please register below.  
Affiliates - please register below, but type N/A for AIA Number.

Non-AIA Members ($20) - Register Here.

John Senhauser, FAIA Bio:

John C. Senhauser, FAIA, founder and principal of John Senhauser Architects is recognized as one of Cincinnati’s leading Architects. Born in New Philadelphia, Ohio, he earned a bachelor of architecture degree in 1971 from University of Cincinnati’s College of Design, Architecture, Art and Planning. John started his own practice in 1979, and since then both architects and builders have chosen to honor John Senhauser Architects with more than sixty design awards as well as the 1999 Ohio Gold Medal Firm Award and the 2009 AIA Ohio Gold Medal. Linking practice with education, professional and community service, John is a former Adjunct Associate Professor of Design at the University of Cincinnati. He has served as President of both AIA Cincinnati and AIA Ohio, former Regional Director for the Ohio Valley Region, and a twoyear term as the 2005-2006 Institute Secretary to the National AIA. In addition, John served as the Director to the National Architectural Accreditation Board from 2007 to 2010 and again in 2014. During that period, he served as an author of both the 2008 and 2014 Conditions for Accreditation. Recently he completed a 27-year term as a member, then Chair, of the city’s Historic Conservation Board. He continues as a member of Cincinnati’s Urban Design Review Board and the University of Cincinnati’s Design Review Committee.

John Senhauser Architects



Title Sponsors





  pella logo


DesignPro FULL logo